my mother’s colours

mum-bthday

yellow allamanda
hot pink bougainvillea
she said
‘such hectic colours
how could I not love to live’

the church
overflowing with flowers
in tropical colour
we dressed her in hot pink
sang all things bright and beautiful

every day
since her death
the vivid colour
of her flower paintings
bring her back to me

as luminous
as the flowers
she loved
the heart
of my mother

….

….

written response to a prompt on Tanka Poets on Site

https://www.facebook.com/groups/246214775465728/

8 thoughts on “my mother’s colours

Leave a Reply

