Reflection (poem / painting)

Self and Shadow Self, acrylic and charcoal on canvas, © Belinda Broughton
Self and Shadow Self,
acrylic and charcoal on canvas, © Belinda Broughton

Reflection

The me I catch
in a sudden view
from a shop window
is not the me
I think I am

This person has
hunched shoulders
stiff hips
a protruding paunch
of fat

and as I watch
she straightens her back
lifts her head
and sets a smile
amongst her wrinkles

Whereas
the me I think I am
is twenty years old
my hair is dark
and my body is painless

I do not tangle my thoughts
with shoulds and cant’s
maybes and definitelys
and therefore I do not need
to rearrange my face

I can run as if my body is not earthbound
I can put my feet behind my ears
I can turn the heads of men
and I really can’t imagine
getting old

………………

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/daily-prompt-you/

4 thoughts on “Reflection (poem / painting)

Leave a Reply

