Hunger Moon

hunger moon
the bull’s snort
puffs dust

Today Carpe Diem Special challenges us to write a haiku with the first line hunger moon.

To quote, ‘ “Hunger Moon” is the name of the full moon of January as it is mentioned inThomas’s Old Farmers Almanac (founded in 1792). ... In cold and temperate climates of the Northern Hemisphere, it was difficult to find food during January, thus the name hunger moon.’

Here in South Australia it is, of course, summer, and our season of drought. It’s been very hot so we put water out for the local koalas and other animals. But when I cleaned out the bowl, there was a dead mouse. Now there is a climbing stick and a rock in the water bowl.

So I guess January’s moon could be called thirst moon. I wrote the following with hunger moon but prefer thirst moon. 

thirst moon
dead in the water bowl
a mouse

What do you think?

This drawing is of a different mouse that died in our workshop. I had to give it a decent burial after I’d finished, instead of heaving it out by the tail as I usually do and that proves drawing is a spiritual activity.

dead mouse, ink and pencil on notebook page © Belinda Broughton
dead mouse, ink and pencil on notebook page
Belinda Broughton

13 thoughts on “Hunger Moon

  1. Thank you so much for this information – I certainly have something relevant swimming around in my head. I love haiku, both reading it and writing it, but feel I don’t do enough of either …
    Writing haiku makes me connect with my inner self and with nature on a deep level that can lead at times to unexpected insights.

  2. I think you have written a nice haiku with that first line “hunger moon” but I can understand that your choice “thirst Moon” is a good choice too. I myself live on the Northern Hemisphere so here it’s winter … in your part of the world of course it’s summer.
    Welcome at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai Special Belinda, I am glad to see new names at my weblogs. Did you visit my other weblog? http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com it’s a daily haiku meme. This month we are travelling straight through the former Soviet Union on board of the Trans Siberian Railroad with Paulo Coelho’s novel “Aleph” as our guide.

  3. Thank you for sharing the information…
    have been reading about the heat in Australia…just never thought about … duh.on me…
    the fact of prompts being opposite for many of us.

    Peace
    Siggi in snowy/frigid Downeast Maine, USA

Leave a Reply

