the colour of sun rays

haibun with sun rays  belinda broughton
haibun with sun rays
belinda broughton

I was five when I first saw the coloured rays of the sun through half-shut eyes — my eyelashes refracting the light into rainbow colours. A few days later the school teacher asked us to draw the sun, so I did and she said, “The sun always has yellow rays.” I knew she was wrong but I drew yellow suns from then on…

spring sunshine
and from the therapist’s room
laughter

A little illustrated haibun from one of my notebooks. Probably I’d change the odd phrase if I was polishing the haibun, but notebooks are filled with unpolished stuff. (‘Gems’ I was going to say, but mostly they are full of unpolished stones, everyday gravel).

The haiku at the end is (among other things) about recovering from the winter blues.

I saw a therapist for a while, and very useful it was too, after years of depression. Most of the time when I spoke to him, there was a lot of laughter. People were often surprised when I told them I was depressed, because I come across as fun-loving and gregarious, which I am also. There were a lot of tears in the therapist’s room too, of course. In any case it really helped me facilitate my recovery. And about time.

8 thoughts on “the colour of sun rays

  1. aloha Belinda. yes, i know how teachers speak to us in our children years and tell us things that we know are just not so. especially when we draw what we know over what the common vision of seeing is. both ways are valid of course. but it took me years to figure that out and i too submitted to the authority after i had drawn what i knew over what i saw.

    i also value highly the sketchbooks and journals of an artist. in finished work i can see where they get to. in those sketchbooks and journals i can see how they got there and into their mind. i like that view. it makes the finished work much deeper for me.

    fun on sketchbook exploration and re-exploration too. aloha.

    1. Thanks Rick. I think it taught me early that teachers don’t know everything, something that has proved very useful.
      I too love sketchbooks. Presently it is the sum total of my visual art. if fact it is my art. I like that it is ephemeral and not in the gallery art scene, therefore i cam be as loose as i like. I also very much like the scale after years of huge paintings. A good deal easier to store too!
      I love other people’s too. Haven’t got the pinterest buttons working on this blog yet, but sketchbooks and other sorts of artists books was my main focus when I was addicted (to Pinterest) I collected 4,000 pins or something ridiculous. http://www.pinterest.com/bindybur/ cheers

      1. cool. yes, i can understand the size issue. altho i would someday like to return to large. i dont know if that will happen tho. sketchbooks however have been an ongoing thing for me too. very cool on your pinterest collection.

        yeah teachers. it’s tricky. i have come to understand that the best teachers are often students. and the best students are often most likely teachers as well. and each teaches the other and each learns from the other too.

        wait. you mean teachers dont know everything?? bwahahahaha. good thing to learn early i suspect. fun. aloha.

  2. just coming out of my brief addiction to pinterest….at least it doesn’t cost anything…ah but actually it does…TIME !! anyway I’m now following your boards. P.S I love reading your words and looking at your pictures! Nicole.

    1. Found you on Pinterest, Nichole. That’s not addicted! Compared to my embarrassing over supply. Still it mustn’t have been addiction because one day it petered out and I moved on. I am lucky that I have a lot of time. Such a luxury, time.

Leave a Reply

