Liking Beetles

I likes beetles
I likes how they all shiny clicky legs hold on upside down

I likes the sprouty strings on they heads
and how they is some black and some bronze

Ganny shows me a green one
poking its probiscuit into her tomato

I likes tomatoes too
and beans crunchy pods from bushes
you pull and pull and they all fall down

And grass hops
I really likes grass hops
leapit out of Ganny’s hands
she goes hoppit after it
two grass hops

but most I likes kukarches
long feelies black shiny flat
and lots of them come out at night
from under the fridge when I is not asleep
and they walks around the kitchen

Mummy catches them in a jar and Daddy takes them outside
Mummy and Daddy don’t like kukarches much
don’t let me touch them

Ganny shows me a wild kukarch as lives outside in the sticks
it got wings that glinty crinkle and I can stroke its back

. . .

Her Ganny quite likes Kakarches too, but mostly to embroider.

cockroach on tablecloth embroidery on cotton Belinda Broughton
cockroach on tablecloth
embroidery on cotton
Belinda Broughton

4 thoughts on “Liking Beetles

    1. Oh, I know and love ‘archy and mehitabel’. My Mum gave me the book to read when I was bored one day (about age 12). Some of my sayings come from there. ‘When in doubt, lick.’ for e.g.. I bought my own copy some years back and love it just as much as an adult.

Leave a Reply

