Dream about Something

My editor has grown old. Any minute now he’ll die
and I’ll be on my own with my confusion and my ego.

There is a Little Person in this dream. He propositions me for sex.
I say I am sorely tempted but I’m not. I just love him.

I am running, I don’t want to stop. I love the feeling of it,
the rhythm of my feet on the ground, the effortlessness of it.
It’s like when I was a child, before my body became earthbound.

I can hear officials talking. They say my editor
has murdered someone. I don’t believe it.
They say they will pick him up in the morning.
Should I warn him? Is he dangerous?

I want to go home now. I have forgotten to feed my dog.
This priest will help me, just as soon as we get
all these sleeping children out of her car.

awake
to simple darkness
my heartbeat

 

 

notebook page, © Belinda Broughton
notebook page, © Belinda Broughton

 

.

Nighttime dreams are just nuts, aren’t they? Mind you my daytime dreams are often full of blood and guts, the worst-that-can-happen scenario, the car going over the cliff in exquisite detail. I have had to work on it. One wouldn’t want to magic it into being!

And then there are the sort of dreams that Martin Luther King had, dreams of hope, dreams of intention. I had lots of them when I was young; I was going to change the world, with art, or political demonstrations, or something, if I could fit it in between joints.

Then I got pregnant and did change the world with one gorgeous being, my daughter.

wispy hair
a child sits on a stump
humming

.

Carpe Diem #438, dreams

17 thoughts on “Dream about Something

  1. While I have birth children… sometimes I feel each written word compiled into a verse is a kind of birth. A dream brought forth. I just recently had a poem go through ‘editing’ – I was not a happy camper. But I’ll live. 🙂

    1. Perhaps you didn’t have a good editor? This editor has done three manuscripts for me and all the poems therein. Mostly his great gift is making order our of my (usually very eclectic) poems, sees connections between them. As far as individual poems go, his usual editing style is to write ‘need this?’ in the margins when I get carried away. And nearly always he’s right that the poem would be stronger without it. A good editor does not destroy your work or your confidence, and always leaves the edits as a suggestion only, letting you know it is your work, and your decision.
      Editing groups are another thing, but the same pretty much applies, grain of salt.

      1. At the moment I am mostly content to write for myself (and those who enjoy reading what I write). It is difficult to find a poetry editor when one isn’t established. You are lucky, blessed or both.

        I can’t read everyone in every prompt I write for – so most often I end up writing for just the host. Some tend to be (nicely) bias. 😉

        1. It’s good, they tell me, to have one person in mind when writing. mostly I think I’m writing for me, but with blogging I find I have a wider audience in mind as if I’m talking to a crowd (of about six! crowd for me)

    1. I certainly agree Jules. and we do (at least some of) what we do with that in mind. But that was a bit ironic, given the phrase, ‘if I could fit it in between joints’. I was actually doing nothing helpful at the time (except building my self and that is very useful). Dreaming holds us together I think.

Leave a Reply

