Taemas Homestead

taemas-shed-2
When I was a kid in North Queensland, we lived in a shed. On three sides it didn’t have walls, just fly wire. On rare occasions it would get cold (like 20 C). Once we even had a little patch of mist that I ran down the hill to be in, before it was eaten by the sun. But mostly we had sun. Lots of it.

midday rest
my back on the concrete
for coolness

Dad-Taemas
My Mum said her heart fell when she first saw the dry red ridge where my Dad had sited the homestead. But it didn’t take long for her to find the beauty, low blue hills in the east, the colours at twilight. And it wasn’t long before she had some comforts, a plumbed shower, a hose to hold in the morning before the heat came up. And the shed. She knew how to eke beauty from pretty much anything.

morning posy
she snips the ends of cosmos
in cool water

taemas-shed-3

Before My father made canvas curtains for the walls, storms were interesting. all the beds, tables, and chairs would be shoved into the centre of the one big room and covered with tarpaulins. The wind would blow and the thunder thump and we would shelter in the strongest part of the shed. I even spent a number of nighttime storms in my bed under a tarp.

lightning, thunder
misty coolness
on my face

It was meant to be a temporary shelter but they lived in it until they retired and went to live in the nearest town 80 miles away. It was the happiest time of their lives.

last day
she holds the hose and gazes
at low blue hills

rooster-Taemas

 

.

Carpe Diem #454, midday nap

17 thoughts on “Taemas Homestead

  1. Belinda, no one does it better! You touched my heart in ways I don’t even know how to express. Thank you for waking up memories of my own childhood, not so different from yours, really. Well done!

    Ron

  2. I’m enraptured by your writing here. Exquisite writing that makes me want to go there and be you..

    I meet a lot of people who live in sheds right now. They are not homesteading, though. Housing is so expensive that working people can’t afford it. So garden sheds are rented out so poorer people can afford to keep their houses. And the shed dwellers get a roof. I wonder if they will look back on these tight times with such wonderment.

    All one. There are no accidents.

    1. well, our situation was lack of money and huge debts also, but they were sitting on a good asset and were lucky enough that the bank didn’t foreclose so that they could sell when the markets and seasons were good. and it was an amazing place to grow up.
      I suppose lots of people make the best of a bad lot. I wonder, as you do, how people will look back on now.

  3. Almost stopped exploring today until I clicked on your like and ended up here. What a wonderful way to end the day blogging. I live in a small village in the middle of Mexico and my neighbor isl a family living in a similar homestead full of life, music love and laughter – along with a few horses, chickens, goats and whatever. I have been trying to capture my village in a genre I am new to after 40 plus years of poetry and I find your passion for the Haiku an inspiration. I have many more visits here planned.

    1. 🙂 John, haiku has just SO much to offer doesn’t it. I also love tanka (for different reasons). I have just begun to explore your blog further too, and am enjoying it greatly.

Leave a Reply

