butterfly breeze

resting butterflies
open and close their wings
midday heat

such heat
but under the dreamt tree
a cooling breeze
from the blue wings
of ten thousand butterflies

a drift
of blue butterflies
through
the ruined house
of my dream

In certain seasons at my sister’s place, Wanderers (Monarch Butterflies) rest on their migration. They have a limited migration in Australia as they’ve only been here for  a hundred and fifty years, so it is not a common sight. But in the heat of the day, thousands attach themselves in shady trees and to the ceiling of an open patio under my sister’s house. Of course, that means that there are also lizards and toads wandering around, pooing and leaving butterfly wings like litter all over the place. But hey, you can’t have everything.

It was years after first witnessing that phenomena, that I had the blue butterfly dream. Goodness knows what the ruined house means but I woke completely enthralled, filled with joy from their beauty. Such a blue.

Today again no letters. Only butterflies. . Haiku by Taneda Santōka Notebook page © Belinda Broughton
Today again
no letters.
Only butterflies.
.
Haiku by Taneda Santōka
Notebook page © Belinda Broughton

 

Carpe Diem Special #94, Jack Kerouac’s 5th “the butterfly wings”

Adding Haiku horizons prompt Drift to this post also, since it fits.

20 thoughts on “butterfly breeze

  1. This post is just wondrous, Belinda. I was at an Amateur Astronomer’s Star Party in Oklahoma some years ago and witnessed a literal cloud of migrating Monarch Butterflies passing just a few inches overhead overhead on their way where they winter in Mexico. From the first Monarch to the last, they were flying past for for 30 minutes. It was the most captivating sight I have ever seen. Your lovely “butterfly breeze” brings back that memory in a powerful way. Lovely writing, Belinda.

    Ron

    1. Please excuse the typos. Also, the second overly long sentence should read, in part, “…overhead on their way to where they winter in Mexico.”

    2. what a wonderful sight. we don’t have those huge migrations here.
      I saw very high flying birds once. Not sure what they were (small and dark, chirpy sound) but the whole sky was full for at least half an hour.

  2. Thanks for sharing your blue butterfly dream. Dreams are an important aspect of personal and “all-one” being.

    I now live on the California coast where migratory monarchs overwinter. Being near the butterfly trees were one way I knew I’d migrated far enough south. They cling by the thousands through the winter in groves of trees native to Australia (Eucalyptus).

    I am entranced by migrations. Once on the Oregon coast (a 12 hour drive to the north of here), I was enveloped in a great dragonfly migration. It lasted all afternoon and into the evening. I’ve seen the rivers there black with small fish migrations from the ocean and narrow rivulets fifty miles inland in the center of towns crammed with huge salmon. Elk there come down from the mountains to the shore in herds during winter.Geese migrate north and south in long barking rivers. Whales swim north and south in pods. It’s not spring till the swallows are back. I think humans are not only historically, but biologically, migratory beings. Humans staying in one spot year round seems counter-intuitive to me. Fences make no sense on a migratory planet. But it is what we have to deal with.

    Thanks for the thought provoking piece. And I really like the woman’s dress in your notebook page. I may have once worn one like this. 🙂

    Alice

    1. fascinating isn’t it. I definitely agree about fences. well the whole idea of ‘owning’ land actually. I like the aboriginal notion that a person belongs to the land, not the other way around.

      1. I’m reading “Songlines”. I like the story of the ancestors coming out of the earth, singing things into existence and then going back under the earth.

        We do belong to the earth. The bodies we wear are made of borrowed earth material. We have to give it back at the end. Everything we need comes from the earth. It’s amazing to think about.

        1. similarly the sun. all life relies on it .fire. sometimes I think, apart from the food we eat and the magic of chlorophyl, about the warmth of our bodies. what is it but heat, fire in a milder form.
          I’ll have to reread ‘Songlines’ now!

        2. And the SUN. Yes. The sun is generous. I’m a sun worshiper.

          I followed the sun to a more southerly climate. I’m so much healthier and happier now. I was sun deficient.

          Thanks for the referral to “Songlines”. I’m enjoying it.

      1. Thank you. I think the I had a flock of Blue Morphos.

        While it wasn’t the greatest shots… and I wish I could figure out (both) where I have it and how to show it…
        I had an old white Luna moth in my yard. You can see an image of it by googling White Luna Moth – the links for images are just too big.

  3. exotic ! i am carried away by the imge you have created Belinda ! its a classic too ! here in the north eastern part of india we rarely see those monarchs ,except one or two somewhere somehow ! gives me a feeling of déjà vu !

Leave a Reply

