Knots

It feels like I’m being tied in knots
by my extreme desire for order
but I’m not sure if I checked the locks.

I know the time but I watch the clocks
because minutes seem longer and shorter.
It feels like I’m being tied in knots.

I know this is a world of hard knocks
and harm could come from any quarter
and so I’m going to check the locks.

I try to dispel my psychic blocks
and not pass them on to my daughter
but it feels like I’m being tied in knots.

There’s so much dirt and fungus and rot
I wash yet again in soap water
but I must go now and check the locks.

Knowing what’s wrong has not made it stop –
obsessive-compulsive disorder.
It feels like I’m being tied in knots
but I have to check that I checked the locks.

 

 

My one and only villanelle. Not autobiographical, by the way, though I have been known to drive home because I am not sure if I turned off the iron.

I was inspired to post it after viewing a sestina, Love lost you across a bloody ocean by johnnycrabcakes. Take a look!

9 thoughts on “Knots

  1. Wonderful, Belinda. Obsession, compounded. Excellent use of the form.
    I often check the locks, and I wash my hands about twenty to thirty times a day, but then we own a small business and this business is food so….

    And thanks for the shout-out.

Leave a Reply

