Story Stones

Perhaps it’s time to share a little of the exhibition I have been having. It’s only got a few more days to run, so if you’re in Adelaide or surrounds, you’d better run! The title of the Show is Story Stones and I’m sharing it with my husband Ervin Janek. He’s showing stone sculptures and the most amazing photographs. He does wonderful composite photos with lots of layers, literally and metaphorically.

Ervin Janek:

I have some prints but the thing I’m most excited about is that I found a wall for my Etcetera installation. You can see more images of it here, from when it was in my studio.

Belinda Broughton: Etcetera (detail)

I also did some rather fun prints like Noodle Ned here. For those of you not familiar with Australian history Ned Kelly was our most famous bushranger (highwayman) from the gold rushes. He is wore home-made armour that looked not dissimilar to this. Every Australian gets this and it’s so silly that it’s funny.

Belinda Broughton: Noodle Ned

Here’s more gallery shots

Ervin Janek: Self Portrait with Webs and other photos, Gallery shot
Ervin Janek: Small Death, and other photographs, gallery shot.
Ervin Janek: Creature Looking Backwards, Small Guardian Figure, and Small Bust
Belinda Broughton: Night Creature, Free Bird, Vacant dog, gallery view

It’s a strange gallery, with lots of nooks and angles and stairs and ramps, but a lively space to work with. Thank goodness for the Manager Niki and her assistant Rebecca, who really knew how to work with it.

Open today, tomorrow and Saturday afternoons. That’s it folks. (Maybe I should have posted this earlier, but I don’t think any of you who are close enough to go are not on FB where I did most promoting of it)

Address: Gallery 1855, 2 Haines Rd, Tea Tree Gully, South Australia.

2 thoughts on “Story Stones

Leave a Reply

