Edges

Click on the image above to view the performance poem I wrote for the exhibition, Solastalgia, at Fabrik, in Lobethal. More details about this series of exhibitions, here.

The drawing is mine, drawn with charcoal from my burnt home. It ended up being about 13 metres long on the beautiful wall of this gallery. It is as ephemeral as my home apparently was, and will be washed off that wall eventually. But all kudos to Melinda Rankin (director of Fabrik) for facilitating it.

Also kudos to all of the people involved in the exhibition, especially Jo Wilmot (creator of Solastalgia, The Exhibitions) and Evette Sunset who said I mentored her when it was the other way around. We all learn from each other anyway, so who needs labels.

Thanks to my good friend David Salomon of Simply Splendid Productions for recording and creating this movie. You can also view the video on Vimeo here

Charcoal Drawing With No Name (detail)

Update 2023: In 2022 my book of poems since the fire was published. Echidnas Don’t Live Here Any More was published in a bit of a hurry to go with and exhibition that I did in august of that year. A version of this poem is published in it under the original title of Where the Edges Aren’t. More about the book here.

4 thoughts on “Edges

  1. I get it now, I get it and I have tears. Thank you Belinda, especially poignant as my family sits eating lunch, in self isolation day 6 to protect the beautiful Bella

  2. Jeez Belinda! I knew you were fucking brilliant but that is seriously fucking brilliant!!

    Louise x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.