day one

I catch him
between engaged tones
yes! yes!
all over my note pad
the baby’s name

the new father
holding his first newborn
looks up
and, before our greetings
humanity

her pale skin
and bandy-legged walk
I greet
this new woman
who is my daughter

my grandchild
sleeping and waking through
her first day
her tannin eyes
the deepest pools

the old man
holds the swaddled newborn
with calloused hands
they gaze at each other
as if comparing notes

….

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/25/prompt-best-day-ever/
(one of a number of best days of my life)

One thought on “day one

Leave a Reply

